A special message for the Workshop community

Performing Arts Workshop

Dear Friend of the Workshop,

After 9 years of an incredible experience at the Workshop, I am very excited to announce that I have been hired as program officer for Performing Arts at the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. I will be leaving the Workshop at the end of June, and beginning my new position in August.

This change is truly bittersweet for me. I have grown up at the Workshop. I could not be more excited about what is in store for the Workshop in our 50th year. A piece of my heart will always live with this organization.

And at the same time, I am ready for a new challenge – and this challenge is particularly exciting. My new role will have a focus on arts education, including policy and advocacy. It feels like a natural evolution from my work at Performing Arts Workshop.

The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation is one of the Workshop’s biggest funders, and is therefore invested in ensuring a smooth transition. In the coming days, the board will be forming a search committee; we hope that the process will be complete by early fall. We will be working with a search firm with whom we have a long history to launch a comprehensive and thoughtful search for a new executive director. We look forward to reaching out to you in the coming months to hear thoughts on great candidates.

My decision to leave the Workshop was not easy – and my commitment will not end when I leave my current role. I look forward to joining the ranks of longtime donors and supporters who will take Performing Arts Workshop into its next 50 years. Thank you all for helping young people develop critical thinking, creative expression and essential learning skills through the arts.

Warmly,
Jess

Jessica Mele
Executive Director

Leave a Reply

