Get to Know Anupama!

With a name that literally means “incomparable,” it’s easy to believe that Anupama Tadanki is one-of-a-kind. Read on to find out more about our resident beat-boxer, vegetarian and New Sector Alliance Fellow!

Anupama Tadanki 2013-1

What is your role at the Workshop?

I am completing a social sector fellowship (through New Sector Alliance and AmeriCorps) at Performing Arts Workshop. I will be conducting internal planning and progress assessments of the “immersive partnerships” initiative, promoting community engagement by directing a Student Advisory Council, and creating opportunities to showcase students’ work.

Where did you grow up?

I moved 8 times before the age of ten. However, 5th grade onwards, Irvine has been home to my family and me. My childhood summers were almost always spent in India with extended family.

What college did you attend and what did you study?

I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Global Health and a minor in Business Administration from the University of Southern California in 2014.

What is your favorite art form?

I could not isolate one favorite art form, since they all inspire and stimulate me in different ways. However, I spend the most time listening to, searching for, and creating music. I listen to everything from electronic lounge numbers to classical world music. My most recent obsession, however, is the upcoming English trio, London Grammar.

If you could go anywhere on vacation, where would it be?

This one is easy. My top dream destination is Peru. I’m dying to see Machu Picchu and visit my dear college friends in their hometown. Ideally, I would get a chance to improve my Spanish skills as well. A close second is Norway. Fjords, reindeer, and trolls seem like an intriguing combination to me!

What are your hobbies?

Recording tracks on Garage Band that will never again see the light of day, exploring cities that I am in, browsing food blogs, and trying to find the next most Instagrammable photo.

If you could be anybody for one day, who would you be?

I would love to be Marissa Mayer and get a first-hand understanding of how she successfully manages multiple stressful roles.

Do you have any pets?

One day I will! I want a big, affectionate dog!

Do you have a favorite quote?

“I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a b****. You’ve got to go out and kick a**.” – Maya Angelou

What is your favorite song?

My homework song of choice throughout high school and college has been “Breathe” by Telepopmusik. I love this song because it never fails to put me in a more focused, proactive mood.

Leave a Reply

