Meet our new Core Artist Glenda Bates!

Get to know our newest Core Artist Glenda Bates with this questionnaire!
Glenda Bates Oboe

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Creative, intuitive, curious

Where did you grow up?

Vienna, Virginia, a suburb of Washington DC. My dad was an engineer and my mother worked for the government.

Where did you go to school and what did you study?

I did my undergrad at the University of South Carolina, where I earned a Bachelor of Arts in Music with Anthropology and French Cognates.

I earned my Master’s of Music in Oboe Performance at the University of Maryland.

I am currently “all-but-dissertation” status towards my Doctorate of Music in Oboe Performance at Stony Brook University.

What is your role with the Workshop?

I am a Core Artist for the Preschool For All program, so I will be teaching exclusively at preschools, which I love!

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? 

I have a fascination with ancient Mayan and Aztec societies, so I would love to explore Central and South America.  I would also love to go to Brazil because it has such a rich, multi-faceted culture, and great music!!

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Still playing oboe, hopefully in the San Francisco Symphony?! Or perhaps the Paris Opera?!

How did you hear about Performing Arts Workshop?

I was researching teaching artist information to ameliorate my own teaching skills and find new opportunities, when I came across the Performing Arts Workshop website.  It sounded like such a great place, I thought, “wow, I wish I could teach with a company like this”, and now here I am!  I am absolutely thrilled to begin this school year and make music with students all over San Francisco.

What are your hobbies?

I love to do yoga, and I love hiking and other outdoor adventures.   I’m also a bit of a foodie and love to cook and taste new wines. 

What is your favorite book from your childhood?

 I used to devour books as a child and teenager, so It’s hard to pick just one:

The earliest book I can remember getting really excited about is “The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Juster. It was such a fantasy adventure! I also loved all the Roald Dahl books.

Do you have a favorite quote? 

 I have many favorite quotes! Here are just a few:

 “The artist is always searching for the meaning of life, his own and that of mankind, searching for truth.” — Bohuslav Martinů

 “…there has never been an artist not considered crazy by thousands of his fellow men” — Richard Strauss

 “When life itself offers no order and meaning, the musician creates an order and meaning from the sounds of the earth which flow through his instrument.” — Martin Luther King Jr.

Leave a Reply

