Meet Laila Copperansky!

In order to get to know our new Teaching Artist Intern Laila Copperansky better, we’ve compiled a list of 10 (vital) things you might not know about her. Read on…
photo1 (1)
 
 

1. What will you be working on at the Workshop this fall?
I will be working on a documentation project that follows students’ learning during our residencies, and either shadowing a Teaching Artist or teaching in my own residency in a Preschool classroom.

2. Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Central Vermont just north of the capitol, Montpelier.

3. What is your favorite art form?
As a dancer, I am biased, but I have always been instinctively drawn towards both the communal and intimate aspects of movement.

4. Where do you go to school, and what are you studying?
I am in my third year at Hampshire College in Massachusetts, where I study Critical Thinking and Movement Integration in Early Elementary Education.

5. How did you hear about the Workshop?
I learned about Performing Arts Workshop through Sonia Reiter, a dancer and former Performing Arts Workshop Teaching Artist.

6. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?
I like anything with a mix of chocolate and fruit (my favorite flavor is unfortunately in the Ben and Jerry’s graveyard in Waterbury, Vermont).

7. If you could go anywhere on vacation, where would it be?
My travel list has about a dozen countries on it currently, but Greece would be wonderful.

8. Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
In 10 years, I see myself as a Kindergarten teacher with an active passion for movement integration in the classroom.

9. What are your hobbies?
Hiking, swimming, reading, yoga-ing, art-making, dreaming of the ocean, and dancing!

10. What is the last book you read?
“The Burgess Boys”, by Elizabeth Strout.

Leave a Reply

