10 things about our Board Member Michelle Parker

photo (1)

1. Where did you grow up? 

I grew up mostly in Texas, beginning in west Texas, then to Houston, then up to Denver, and then back to Houston, where my parents still live.

 

2. What is your favorite art form? 

Music- listening to it, playing it, making it with other people.

 

3. What college did you attend and what did you study? 

I received my Bachelor of Music in Piano Pedagogy from Westminster Choir College in Princeton, NJ.

 

4. Do you have a favorite quotation? 

Hmm. that’s a hard one. So many I like depending on what I’m focused on at any given time. But, I’d have to say I consistently like Margaret Mead’s “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”

 

5. Any career highlights you’d like to share?  What are you currently doing? 

I currently work at another arts non-profit called the African American Art & Culture Complex, which I love. I handle most of the operations-focused things there. My greatest career highlights have been in the intense volunteer work that I do with the San Francisco public schools. I have served as the Legislation Chair and President of the District PTA, co-founded the successful SF Parent Political Action Committee, as well as sat on or chaired numerous committees. My work has ranged from working with parents in different schools to build their knowledge, capacity and ability to advocate for issues important to them, to being on leadership teams to work towards good policy or to organize ground campaigns for ballot measures. 

 

6. If you could go anywhere on vacation, where would it be? 

Next on my list is probably Spain, but there are a lot of places close behind!

 

7. What inspired you to join the Workshop’s Board of Directors? 

I was really impressed with how the organization was being run, but also love the work the teaching artists do with so many students in the City. Perhaps obviously due to my background, I feel a special passion about making sure kids have great experiences with the arts for many, many reasons.

 

8. What are your hobbies? 

Cooking, playing the piano, reading, exploring the area, photography

 

9. What do you like to do on the weekend/in your time off? 

Cook, spend time with my kids and/or friends, listen to live music, explore, see new things, laugh

 

10. Do you have a favorite book? 

“To Kill a Mockingbird”

 

Leave a Reply

