8 things about our newest board member, Sagar Gupta

Garth Applegate

Hi, my name is Artisha Gardner and I’m an intern at Performing Arts Workshop. I have the honor of introducing our newest board member, Sagar Gupta.

1. Where do you live?

I live in San Francisco on the border of Nob Hill and Pacific Heights; my office is in the Financial District. I’ve been in the city for the past 3 years and prior to this attended UC Berkeley.

2. Where do you escape on your weekends?

I mainly spend time with my friends taking short trips or exploring other neighborhoods in San Francisco. I love going to the Mission, Sunset and Pac Heights to check out restaurants and lounges. I’ve also recently taken trips to Big Sur, Napa, San Diego and Vegas.

3. What is your favorite restaurant?

It’s hard for me to name a single restaurant so I’ll name a few: La Oaxaqueña,Burma Superstar, Lahore Karahi, Cheeseboard Pizza, and Umami Burger.

4. What are some professional or personal highlights that brought you to Performing Arts Workshop?

I currently work in finance and have been interested in business since a young age.  But I also played a lot a of music growing up.  So the two naturally came together when I founded my own music entertainment company.  Knowing that music helped me explore my other academic and professional interests was a very meaningful experience for me.

5. Why did you choose to join the Workshop?

Like I mentioned earlier, music has been a big part of my life and helped me both personally and professionally.  I strongly believe that music and arts education are a critical component of any student’s overall upbringing.  The Workshop’s mission is one that resonates with me deeply and I’m proud to be a part of the organization!

6. What is something or someone you can’t live without? Why?

I hate to admit it, but I probably can’t live without the Internet (with breaks here and there).  This is how I stay connected with just about everybody in my life.  It’s also the main medium that delivers all of my media content – music, books, TV, movies, games and more.

7. What is one quote that you live by everyday?

“True leaders make others leaders.”  It’s always important to remember to not only fulfill your own responsibilities and help others, but to empower others so that they can go on to do the same.  The effect is exponential and lasts forever.

8. What is your favorite TV show?

My favorite TV shows are probably too violent for high schoolers, but here they are anyways: Breaking Bad, The Wire, The Sopranos, Homeland, The Walking Dead, and Vice.

Leave a Reply

