Music Monday: Hit The Road

Sometimes you “gotta get out of this place.” What song makes you want to hit the road?

Larry, Program & Administrative Assistant

  1. Freeway of Love, Aretha Franklin
  2. Last Exit to Brooklyn, Gene Pitney
  3. Gotta Move, Barbra Streisand

Lorena, Program Manager

Dancing On My Own, Robyn

Ivy, Finance & Operations Manager

Mr. Blue Sky

Jessica, Executive Director

Roadrunner, The Modern Lovers

Beverly, Individual Giving Manager

Hotel California because my dad always played it on road trips.

Laurie, Institutional Giving Manager

Exile on Main Street is my quintessential short trip album. That, and Revolver.

Black Sabbath reminds me of the epic roadtrip across the US with my brother. Waking at dawn, having a slug of Limoncello, getting in the car and cranking “Paranoid” while drinking terrible coffee and eating doughnuts, AKA “Continental Breakfast”

But if I was scoring a movie with a road trip scene, I’d have to include “Chicago” by Sufjian Stevens. I always imagine a car speeding down a highway when I hear it, it’s a great escape song.

Anne, Program & Communications Manager

Magic Carpet Ride, Steppenwolf

Built to Spill’s There’s Nothing Wrong With Love and Sparks’s Indiscreet will always and forever be associated with my whirlwind tour of the Southwest I took between Junior and Senior year of high school with two friends. It was the first sans parents road trip I ever took and my first time visiting Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, Utah and parts of California. It was desertastic!

Karena, Program Director

We Belong, Pat Benatar

Leave a Reply

