Music Mondays: Tracy’s Tunes

Tracy Wu – The Workshop’s Development Intern has put together a playlist of some of her favorite music to both play and enjoy. Check it out here Tracy’s Tunes

Dvorak New World Symphony (No. 9)
Bach Goldberg Variations (Glenn Gould recording)
Mahler Fifth Symphony
Bartok String Quartet No. 4

Algo Me Gusta De Ti
Pegaito Sauvecito
Cabecita Dura

The act of making music has been a big part of my life since I was very little. I began playing orchestrally when I was six, and one of the first symphonies I ever played was an arrangement of Dvorak’s evocative New World Symphony. I’ve probably played that piece at least a dozen times, and each time it sits in a slightly different place in my heart.

My favorite radio stations to listen to in the car are Recuerdo FM 100.3, Latino Mix FM 100.7, and Universal FM 92.3. A few years ago I spent a summer living in Panama and then touring Latin America with an orchestra, and the warm Latin rhythms bring back good memories. Universal FM 92.3 makes me laugh because it unselfconsciously melts together Mandarin talk shows with Spanish ballads and Taiwanese pop hits. Plus, I get to practice my language skills in the car 🙂

Although I’m not performing regularly with a group at the moment, I do teach at Albany Music School and the New Mozart School of Music and am putting together a versatile special events string quartet for weddings, corporate events, private parties, celebrations and memorable days of all sorts!

Leave a Reply

