Music Monday: The Wackness

Movie Poster for The Wackness

My favorite movie soundtrack is The Wackness. It may as well be the soundtrack to my 90’s.

The Wackness is a coming of age of sorts for a high school grad celebrating his pre-college summer in native New York City and his middle-aged therapist with a slew of his own problems.

While my hometown of Kalamazoo, Michigan is a far cry from the thrill of Manhattan, I totally identify my own high school years with the main character’s journey—aimless wandering, botched attempts at love, and partying with reckless abandon.

More than the plot, though, is the movie’s soundtrack. Biggie Smalls, A Tribe Called Quest, Wu-Tang Clan were the sounds of those years, and hearing them takes me right back to my teenage self.

I’ll always be making new memories, but my mid-90’s nostalgia features some of the best.

-Karena Salmond, Program Director

Listen to the soundtrack here: The Wackness – Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

