Music Monday: Beverly Mislang’s Favorite Movie Soundtracks

Poster for the Movie Once

When Anne (Program and Communications Manager) asked me to pick my favorite movie soundtracks, I was flummoxed. That’s like asking, “What is your favorite movie of all time?” In the end, I chose ten soundtracks. But I’ll just discuss three of them here:

Once: This record is a collection of sweet (sometimes bitter) songs from two singer-songwriters. It’s perfect for Sunday afternoon reading background music.

The Graduate: Every song on this album holds lyrical genius. The music plays a role as big as the actors themselves. The album and the soundtrack will continue to entertain and enthrall audiences for generations to come.

The Pianist: I started playing the piano when I was eight years old, after I begged my parents for lessons. They (begrudgingly) obliged and I’ve been jamming out Chopin ever since. If you haven’t seen Adrien Brody in his major picture debut – add this movie to your queue.

Fun fact: I played the opening piece, Nocturne in C-sharp minor, at the 2004 San Lorenzo High School Talent Show.

Poster for the Movie the Graduate

Leave a Reply

