Spotlight on the Incomparable Dancing Queen Fredrika

1. How long have you been teaching?  

I have been teaching for 5 years.

2. How has your relationship to the Workshop changed your teaching style and/or artistic life?

Well, I’m so used to teaching in the dance studio environment where we rarely teach critical thinking. Now that I have been exposed to the idea, I bring it into my regular dance classes out side the Workshop. Its awesome!


3. What changes in the students have you noticed over the course of your programs?

I absolutely love when my students, especially the little ones, start to change their vocabulary. They talk in dance terms and imitate my dance slang. i.e “Freddy, are about to dip it low now?” and “Freddy, did you notice my unique step touches?” It’s priceless. They learn exactly what you teach and how you teach it. They don’t miss a beat.


4. How do you think that working in the Workshop is different than other similar organizations?

In my case, I normally teach studio dance classes where we are focusing on a production at the end of the semester. Whereas in Performing Arts Workshop, it’s more detailed oriented in terms of the process. The final product is less important than the actual journey you have with the students in the classroom.

About Fredrika:

1) Whereabouts do you live?

San Fransisco ❤ of the mission

2) Album you cannot live without?

Mamma Mia soundtrack! Sometimes you need to pretend you’re in a musical to get your self going in the morning. 🙂 I never thought I would choose that.
3) Artist you wish you knew in real life?

Michael Jackson. He was like magic.
4) Favorite Coffee Shop?

Peet’s, hands down.

5) Personal Mantra?

“Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.”

6) Favorite Restaurant?

Cafe Gratitude

7) What do you miss from your hometown?

Nothing! I’m still right here!

 

8) Where do you escape on the weekends?

I escape to the salsa dance floor. Can’t be on it without a smile on my face. All my worries fall away. It’s impossible to be unhappy there.

Leave a Reply

