Poetry from Behind the Walls: “14 Years of Life”

“14 Years of Life” is written by a student of the San Francisco Unified School District Court Schools. 

14 Years of Life 

by: CAS

When I was five, I realized I was alive

When I was six, I noticed moms smoked cancer sticks

When I was seven, life felt like heaven

When I was eight, I went to school late

When I was nine, I never came to school on time

When I turned ten, pops went to the pen

When I was eleven, heaven turned to hell

When I was twelve, I was on the block with it

When I turned thirteen, I was with the stuff

Now I’m fourteen, I ain’t with stuff the stuff is with me

If you liked this poem, you might also enjoy: 

1) Student Poetry: One Student’s View From the Inside (Part 1)

2) This poem is going to blow up in your hands

Leave a Reply

