Music Monday: Middle School Madness

Make your day! Pump it up to the “Middle School Madness” playlist on Spotify.

There’s something about the teenaged years that really make us unsure of ourselves. It’s a time of reflection and revision about where we’re coming from and where we’re going.

Teaching artists help kids in the classroom with this concept everyday. They asks students to reflect on their creative choices and revise them based on feedback. In the Workshop’s partnership with Global Writes, students give peer feedback after performances of their spoken word poetry.

With this in mind, youth change the mannor of their performance or parts of their poems. Where were you at in Middle School? What choices did you make about your music that showed where you were coming from or where you were going?

What was your favorite song, artist or album in middle school?

  • Jessica, Executive Director – The Beatles – White Album
    • Back in the USSR
    • While My Guitar Gently Weeps
    • Everybody’s got something to hide except for me and my monkey
    • Rocky Raccoon
  • Anne, Program and Communications Manager– I may have been a little obsessed with Coolio’s Gangsta’s Paradise. I definitely had the tape with just the music on the B side. I also wrote the lyrics on my cartooning class folder. Then Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo and Juliet came out and it was Love Fool.
  • Beverly, Individual Giving Manager-  I came of age during TRL’s heyday, so, it was Christina Aguilera’s first album.
    • Genie in a Bottle
    • What a Girl Wants
    • I Turn to You
  • Karena, Program Director – Nirvana
    • Smells Like Teen Spirit
    • Come As You Are
    • Lithium
  • Gary, Artistic Director –  I didn’t have a favorite song or album in middle school.
    • Blue Velvet – Bobby Vinton (#1)
    • Be My Baby – The Ronettes (#2)
    • Blue on Blue – Bobby Vinton (#3)
    • Busted – Ray Charles (#4)
  • Cathy,Finance Director – The Beatles
    • Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Heart’s Club Band
    • With a Little Help from My Friends
    • When I’m Sixty-Four
  • Aurora, Program Manager – The Smiths: The Queen is Dead.   I was an angst-y teen.

If you enjoyed this post, you might also enjoy, What’s the first song or album you ever played on repeat?

Leave a Reply

