Student Poetry: One Student’s View From the Inside (Part 3 of 3)

This is the final installment of a three-part series of poetry from *James, an incarcerated youth.

What’s Not Happening

The clock isn’t moving time is stopped
this door isn’t opening it is locked
I’m not going home right now I’m in jail
I don’t know what’s going on
I’m not here
I’m in a dream
a fantasy
I’m with the girl of my dreams
Everything is perfect
then I hear the key in the lock
I wake up
& I snap back to reality
The clock starts ticking
the door opens
I’m in jail right now
That’s what’s happening

***

*James is an incarcerated youth who participated in Performing Arts Workshop’s creative writing class. Each year, the Workshop partners with juvenile hall to provide youth with an opportunity to learn critical thinking and creative expression during their incarceration.

*The student author’s name has been changed.

Related posts you might enjoy:

  1. Student Poetry: One Student’s View From the Inside (Part 1)
  2. Student Poetry: One Student’s View From the Inside (Part 2)


Leave a Reply

